Stuck in Destruction

Psalm 40:1-5 (NIV)

Psalm 40
For the director of music. Of David. A psalm.

1 I waited patiently for the Lord;
he turned to me and heard my cry.
2 He lifted me out of the slimy pit,
out of the mud and mire;
he set my feet on a rock
and gave me a firm place to stand.
3 He put a new song in my mouth,
a hymn of praise to our God.
Many will see and fear the Lord
and put their trust in him.
4 Blessed is the one
who trusts in the Lord,
who does not look to the proud,
to those who turn aside to false gods.
5 Many, Lord my God,
are the wonders you have done,
the things you planned for us.
None can compare with you;
were I to speak and tell of your deeds,
they would be too many to declare.

Have you been in David’s shoes? He was stuck on slimy pit and cried for a help. He waited patiently for God to help, to take him out of mud and wire and gave him a firm place to stand.

I have been there before. I was stuck in destruction. No meaning life, selfishness, wrongdoings, disconnection from God.
I felt empty and desperate.
I didnt think that I could be out of this hopeless life.
I couldnt wonder what God would do for this sinner daughter.
“Who am I to be rescued?” That was I thought at that time.

I was not patiently waiting for God’s help. I was so proud of myself and leave Him. I didnt think that He still want to help me nor to make me come back.

Until one day…
I cried a lot because I knew He was standing over there waiting for me to come back.
It was in the church, after being absent for a couple month. I didnt plan to go to church. It was just because someone asked me to have Sunday service together.

“I couldnt come back to You, Lord.”
“I shouldnt come..”
“I didnt deserve You because I am full of sin”

Cried and cried again.

At some point, part of me really wanted to come back. But I didnt think I deserve a second chance. I was stuck.

Until He came to me and gave His hand. He promised me to take me out of this mud of destruction. He will heal me, that was His promise.

“My grace is sufficient for you”

I looked to Him with full of shame, and asked him : “please take me out of these, Lord. I really need You. Help me”

He indeed helped me to go out. He made me stand in the firm rock. At that time, He gave me courages to say goodbye for my old life. I was believe on Him to gave me a better life. More of that, He still want to be with me, this sinner girl.

When I looked back and remembered, I felt what’s David feeling in vv 4-5.

“…
Blessed is the one who turn aside to false gods…”
“Many, Lord my God, are the wonders you have done,”
“the things you planned for us.”
“…
“were I to speak and tell of your deeds, they would be too many to declare.”

No matter how deep is your destruction pit, God can rescue you and make you stand firm in Him.
Ask for God’s help!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 2,025 hits
